Large scale data breaches have been a common occurrence in the last few years.
Huge databases of information built up over years and years gets breached and hackers are able to pull large swathes away at once. The latest tech giant to get affected by cyber breach is the popular knowledge-sharing website, Quora.
The number of website users affected by unauthorised access is quoted to be over 100 million. The company in its official blogpost has termed this as a ‘malicious third party’ attack. Quora co-founder and CEO Adam D’Angelo shared a detailed post on Monday evening alerting the users and also putting out the facts before them. He quoted:
“We’re still investigating the precise causes and in addition to the work being conducted by our internal security teams, we have retained a leading digital forensics and security firm to assist us. We have also notified law enforcement officials.”
The company also said that, as a precautionary measure, it was logging out all Quora users who may have been affected to prevent further damage.
“We are in the process of notifying users whose data has been compromised,” D’Angelo further wrote.
ALSO READ –
What Must Quora Users Know?
- The latest data breach is unlikely to result in identity theft as it does not collect sensitive private information of users
- Quora users will be allowed to reset their passwords as of now to stay safe
- If you have created the Quora account using Google or Facebook plug-ins, you need to first generate a password by clicking the “Change Password” link and then click on “create an account password”
- It is important to note that this process of account deletion takes up to 14 days and if you log-in again during this period, the account will be reactivated
- Once the 14-day grace period has expired and your account has been deleted, your content and profile will be permanently deleted, and personal data associated with your account will be removed from Quora’s databases
- If you want to simply delete your Quora account, visit your account privacy settings and choose “Delete Account”
NOTE : The site will ask you to enter your password to confirm the deletion of the account.
In a concluding statement, Angelo said that it was their responsibility to make sure things like this don’t happen, however, he accepted that the organisation failed to meet that responsibility. He also added that they did recognize that in order to maintain user trust, they need to work very hard to make sure this does not happen again.
The co-founder also said that there was little hope of sharing and growing the world’s knowledge, if those doing so cannot feel safe and secure, and cannot trust that their information will remain private. He emphasised that they were continuing to work very hard to remedy the situation, and hoped to prove to be worthy of their trust over a period of time.
ALSO READ –